New FC2 Chair: Debby Ratner Salzberg

We are excited announce Debby Ratner Salzberg will succeed Ed Walter as Chair of the Federal City Council after a unanimous vote at our first virtual board meeting on June 25, 2020.

Debby has been member of the Federal City Council since 1999 and has served in a number of leadership roles. She has served as an Officer since 2017 and as Co-Chair of our Transportation Committee since 2014.

Debby is a highly regarded corporate leader in Washington, DC. She worked for over 30 years at Forest City Realty Trust and served as president of Forest City Washington. She was responsible for development in the company’s DC region, Philadelphia, Boston and New Jersey markets, which included the development of The Yards in the Capitol Riverfront district. Most recently, she served as Washington, DC Region Chairman for Brookfield Properties. Deborah is active with numerous community and professional organizations including DCBIA, the Washington Housing Conservancy, the Urban Land Institute, the Meyer Foundation and Kenyon College.

Ed served as Chair of the Federal City Council since 2016. He was instrumental in the establishment and success of the MetroNow Coalition. He created a new process for identifying our organization’s annual priorities, and aligning our activities and programs with those priorities. He also brought his considerable expertise as Global CEO of the Urban Land Institute to bear on the Federal City Council’s programming by establishing our current format of four board meetings per year complemented by Project Breakfasts and Speaker Series Breakfasts.

Ed will remain a member of the Board of Directors in the role of Past Chair and on the Nominating Committee.

In other news, FC2 Trustees approved changes to our bylaws, which included new names for our two main leadership committees. Our Officers Group, which has a strategic and fiduciary role, will now by designated as the Board of Directors. The Executive Committee, which has a programmatic and advisory role, will now be called the Leadership Committee. These new names more conventionally describe the roles of these Committees.